The Aromantic Pride Flag 

The current aromantic flag is the third version of its kind. The current flag as shown above was created by Tumblr user Cameron (@cameronwhimsy) from Australia in 2014. Although some might still use the older designs, the most current flag is the most widely used and associated with the aromantic identity. 

The updated design is seen at various pride events every year and has since represented the aromantic community. 

What do the colors of the aromantic flag stand for?

In order from top to bottom this is what each stripe stands for: 

  • Dark Green: Represents aromanticism.
  • Light Green: Represents the aromantic spectrum.
  • White: Represents platonic and aesthetic attraction, as well as queer/quasi platonic relationships.
  • Gray: Represents gray-aromantic and demiromantic people.
  • Black: Represents the sexuality spectrum.

Alternative version of the aromantic flag

As mentioned above there were two designs before the current flag was created. These two flags are essentially the blueprints for the flag that currently represent romanticism. With that being said, some individuals like the look or meaning of the previous flags more and still wave these flags instead. 

The first aromantic flag 

It is unknown who created the first aromantic flag, but it was the first attempt at expressing the aromantic identity through a flag. 

The colors are as follows: 

  • Green: Represents the opposite of red (the color of romance).
  • Yellow: Represents yellow flowers which symbolize friendship.
  • Orange: represents in between yellow and red (for gray-romantics).
  • Black: Represents alloromantics who reject the traditional ideas of romance.

The second aromantic flag 

The second aromantic flag was created by Tumblr user Cameron (@cameronwhimsy), the same person who created the updated version of the aromantic flag we use today. Cameron designed this flag and later edited it themselves for improvement. 

The colors represent as follows:

  • Dark and light green: Represents the aromantic spectrum. 
  • Yellow: Represents platonic love and relationships. 
  • Gray and black: represents the sexuality spectrum, representing aromantics of all sexual orientations

Want to learn more about being aromantic?

Being aromantic refers to experiencing little to no romantic attraction to other individuals. There are two kinds of aromantic people, those who are aromantic sexual people and those who are aromantic asexual people. This is in reference to whether or not sexual experiences are a part of their relationships. 

Essentially, an aromantic person does not feel like they need romance to make a relationship work. Some signs that you might be aromantic can include, not feeling romantic attraction to others, not having “crushes”, and not relating to the way relationships are portrayed in mainstream media.

Closing thoughts

The bottom line is representation matters. Flags are a necessary tool when it comes to representing a community, identity, or sexuality. 

The aromantic community can wave this flag and know that it symbolizes community and unity. The colors represent what being a part of this identity means and brings understanding and awareness to aromanticism. 

Visit our identities page to learn more about other gender and sexual identities that make up the LGBTQ+ community, and subscribe to the INTO newsletter to keep on top of the latest happening in our community.

Don't forget to share:

Read More in Culture
The Latest on INTO