‘RuPaul’s Drag Race’ to Air Christmas Special Featuring 8 Returning Queens

RuPaul’s Drag Race is coming back earlier than you’d expect — but with a Christmas twist.

Eight queens from Drag Race‘s past will compete in the RuPaul’s Drag Race Holi-slay Spectacular, VH1 announced Thursday. The one-hour special, which will air in early December, will feature the veteran contestants battling it out for a unique title: “Drag Race Xmas Queen.”

“Nothing says Christmas like ‘Chestnuts roasting on an open fire,’ and drag queens slipping on their pantyhose,” RuPaul said in a press release. “This VH1 holiday extravaganza is my way of saying thank you to my ‘Drag Race’ family by spreading a little bit of love, laughter and light across the country and around the world.”

The eight queens who will compete in the special are:

  • Sonique (season 2)
  • Shangela (seasons 2 and 3, All Stars 3)
  • Latrice Royale (season 4, All Stars 1)
  • Jasmine Masters (season 7)
  • Trixie Mattel (season 7, All Stars 3)
  • Kim Chi (season 8)
  • Eureka O’Hara (seasons 9 and 10)
  • Mayhem Miller (season 10)

The Christmas special will be the first new Drag Race episode to air since the show won the Best Reality Competition Series Emmy back in September, and will serve as a prelude to two new seasons expected to drop next year: All Stars 4, and season 11 of the flagship series.

RuPaul’s Drag Race Holi-slay Spectacular will debut Friday, Dec. 7 at 8 p.m. Eastern on VH1.

Image via VH1

Don't forget to share:
Read More in Culture
The Latest on INTO